August 26, 2013

Brian Froud's Faerielands Book 1

The Wild Wood
by Charles De Lint
illustrated by Brian Froud

You Must Remember!


Eithnie has always loved the Canadian woods, it was home to her and as an artist she has always found inspiration and comfort among the trees. But now something is different. There is a change in the air and the woods are full of whispers, shadows and visions that fill her with fear. For the first time in her life the woods no longer feel safe, and so Eithnie flees.

In the desert plains of Arizona, a world away from her familiar landscape of trees, Eithnie discovers a new land, a new vision of inspiration, a new understanding for the sparse plains before her and for the wooded lands she left behind. Armed with new courage, Eithnie returns to her woods where she discovers a love she never thought possible and a new future in the woods that have always been home.

The Wild Wood is changing, there is a magic in the air and a presence among the trees. But there is also desperation, the woods are dying, crying out for help and only Eithnie has the power to save them, if she has the courage to accept the responsibility. A story of magic and romance, this first book in the Fairyland series is beautifully written by a masterful storyteller bringing to life the magical imagery of an enchanting illustrator.
On sale: 01 February 1994
ISBN: 9780553096309
Recommended age: 16+
In a word: Lia
Re-read it: yes
Recommend: yes
Star rating: five out of five

No comments:

Post a Comment