January 10, 2012

Delirium Trilogy Book 1

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Love Sick!

Love is violent, dangerous, unpredictable, and painful. Love hurts. Anyone is capable of love, that's the scary part, that this disease can capture anyone at anytime without warning. That's not entirely true, there are warning signs, but once a person is infected with love there is only one cure. The Cure. At eighteen years of age all citizens are given the cure, it's too dangerous to perform the cure before that age, but until that age all are susceptible.

Her whole life she has known the dangers of delirium, of love. In the past people would die for love, they'd kill for love, they'd beg, lie, cheat and steal for love. But without love there has been less chaos, less fighting and crime. Yet with only months, days left until her own cure, she is discovering all the things they don't tell you. That without love, without the pain, there is no joy, no happiness and nothing to connect you to those around you. Nothing to connect you to the world.

Delirium is a world where love is outlawed; a disease that can be cut out and removed leaving behind a shell of a life, compliant, unquestioning and uncaring. But as one girl begins to question all that she knows, all that she has been taught, she learns the hardest lesson of all. That love is all that matters. An interesting and intriguing story that may take a little too warm up, but once it gets rolling sets up a most compelling beginning to a new series.
On sale: 01 February 2011
Price (AU): $27.99
ISBN: 9780340980927
Recommended age: 15+
In a word: Love
Re-read it: probably
Recommend: yes
Star rating: four out of five

No comments:

Post a Comment