May 23, 2011

Sookie Stackhouse #11

Dead Reckoning
by Charlaine Harris

If You Had Just One Wish!

Sookie is a girl who over a short period of time has managed to collect many enemies, but while some will go all out to get her or die trying, others are already dead. Living in this state of constant danger, knowing that at any moment someone could strike her down, is taking its toll and as Sookie's enemies move against her and those she loves, Sookie and the gang decide it time to take matters into their own hands.

As a telepath Sookie is used to keeping secrets, many of them not even her own; however she is not so used to having secrets kept from her. Now it seems that all those closest to her, all those whose thoughts she can't hear, are keeping things from her. But meanwhile Sookie is distracted with the discovery of the truth of her past, her realization of her true feelings for her vampire husband and her admitting to herself what she truly wants from her life.

Dead Reckoning is less the murder mystery that we have come to expect from this series and more a murder plot, with the one exception of a spur of the moment killing. There is plenty to sink your teeth into in this book, killers on the loose, vampire politics, treasures revealed, fairy plots and a baby showing to throw. But underneath it all is the continuing story of Sookie that is just as amazing, horrible and addictive as ever. Also look out for an appearance from Charlaine's other heroine Lily Bard.
On sale: 01 May 2011
Price (AU): $29.99
ISBN: 9780575096530
Recommended age: 18+
In a word: Secrets
Re-read it: probably
Recommend: to those reading the series
Star rating: four out of five

No comments:

Post a Comment